RSS

Acapulco

18 Mar
Acapulco

Acapulco

March 14, 2014 – The Republic Steakhouse

Acapulco
3/4 oz. lemon juice
3/4 oz. Rose’s lime juice (lime cordial)
1 egg white
1 1/2 oz. white rum
Dashes Cointreau
Lime wedge

Shake very well with ice and strain into a chilled cocktail glass. Squeeze the lime wedge over the drink and place in the glass.

Good, plain, ol’ Bacardi white rum worked well in this. Anything with more oomph would have been lost in the lemon. Cointreau is an orange liqueur with a sweetness between Triple Sec and Gran Marnier.

I had heard tell of cocktails made with egg whites, and they intrigued me. I couldn’t imagine how it would work out. I must say, I’m a believer now. In this drink, the egg white comes out softly whipped, almost like a meringue. It gave the drink a silky texture that really worked well with the tart lemon flavor. Although I think I would like it even better with just a touch more sweetness (and a lime cordial of better quality than Rose’s), I can certainly see myself sipping on these at brunch.

¡Salud! (Spanish)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 18, 2014 in Rum

 

Leave a Reply

 
