RSS

Affinity

18 Mar
Affinity

Affinity

March 14, 2014 – The Republic Steakhouse

Affinity
1/2 oz. dry vermouth
1/2 oz. vermouth rosso
1 oz. Scotch
Dash orange bitters (or Angostura bitters)

Stir in a mixing glass with ice. Strain into a chilled cocktail glass.

The Scotch was Johnny Walker Black; a good choice considering I had never tasted Scotch before (yes… I know… I am ashamed). A note in the book indicates that this is basically a Scotch Manhattan, and I totally agree. Overall, this is a little smoother than a bourbon Manhattan, with just a little bit of smokiness up front. I liked the combination of both dry and sweet vermouth (not a surprise, that’s what I like in my Manhattans); not a lot of sweetness and just the right amount of herb. If for some reason bourbon wasn’t to hand, I could do very nicely with these.

Manuia! (Tahitian)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 18, 2014 in Scotch

 

Leave a Reply

 
