RSS

Rory O’More

05 Apr

Rory O’More (Irish Manhattan)

April 4, 2014 – The Republic Steakhouse

Rory O’More (Irish Manhattan)
3/4  oz. vermouth rosso
1 1/2 oz. Irish whiskey
Dash orange bitters

Stir in a mixing glass filled with ice and strain into a cocktail glass.

Jameson Irish whiskey and Carpano Antica sweet vermouth rosso (both standard wells at The Republic). This is little smoother than a Bourbon Manhattan, which isn’t surprising. My nose may have been a bit off, but I got a fairly strong whiff of banana up front (reminded me of the Adonis, which was made with the same vermouth). The orange bitters really came through, held up by the vermouth, I’m guessing. I’m learning that the “Manhattan” combination… brown liquor, vermouth, bitters… pretty  much works with anything.

The greatest revelation with this drink was the vermouth. I’ve tasted vermouth straight up before, for research purposes. It’s okay… it made me understand why vermouth is used in cocktails. Ryan gave me a small sip of the Carpano Antica on it’s own, and the clouds opened up. Incredibly complex, with hints of spice and fruit and caramel and a really pleasant bitter finish. I can definitely see myself having a chilled shot of this as a digestif after a big meal.

Na zdraví! (Czech)

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 5, 2014 in Irish whiskey

 

One response to “Rory O’More

  1. heather g-m

    April 6, 2014 at 2:11 am

    ooh – have not had that vermouth before (unless it was in a drink when I was out and I didn’t know it) will have to seek it out now

     

Leave a Reply

 
