RSS

Carthusian Sazerac

09 Jul
Carthusian Sazerac

Carthusian Sazerac

July 3, 2014 – The Republic Steakhouse

Carthusian Sazerac
2 1/2  oz. rye whiskey
1/4 oz. green Chartreuse
Dashes of sugar syrup
Absinthe (rinse)
Lemon twist

Rinse cocktail glass with absinthe. Stir rye, Chartreuse, and syrup with ice in a mixing glass. Strain into cocktail glass and twist lemon over, dragging the peel around the edge of the glass.
Spice Bar & Grill (Cleveland, OH)

Sazerac rye and Mythe absinthe. This is a off-book riff on a traditional Sazerac that I found after I did some research on Chartreuse a while back. I had scribbled it on a Post-It note and stuck it in my book, forgetting where I saw it. When I thumbed across it tonight, I figured it was time to give it a try. I am SO glad I did! The green Chartreuse’s herbs and the rye’s spice made for a perfect combination, with the slightly bitter, citrusy lemon peel brightening up the whole thing. I had originally wrote down the addition of lemon bitters, which would have made it even better, I think. Unfortunately, lemon bitters weren’t available.

Made from grain alcohol aged with 130 herbs, plants, and flowers, Chartreuse is a French liqueur made by Carthusian Monks since 1737 according to the recipe in a secret manuscript given to them in 1605. Green Chartreuse (responsible for introducing the use of the same color term first documented in 1884) is 110 proof. Yellow Chartreuse is a milder, sweeter 80 proof.

When going back to old posts to see what I had already shared about Chartreuse, I found the link to the original Carthusian Sazerac recipe and moved it here. Sorry for the confusion!

Kasuutta! (Greenlandic)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 9, 2014 in Absinthe, Rye whiskey

 

Leave a Reply

 
