RSS

Manhattan Dry

02 Oct
Manhattan Dry

Manhattan Dry

September 25, 2014 – The Republic Steakhouse

Manhattan Dry
1 1/2 oz. Canadian whisky
3/4 oz. dry vermouth
Dashes Angostura bitters
Lemon peel

Stir well with ice in a mixing glass. Strain into a chilled cocktail glass and add lemon twist.

First, let me say that I was a bit shocked when I first saw this recipe for a Manhattan. I know Manhattans… I’ve had a lot of them… and not once did I hear of one being made with Canadian whisky. Not that there’s anything wrong with Canadian whisky, I just never thought there was a whole lot to it. Canadian whisky does not have the same rigorous standards that other liquors are made under (I blame Prohibition), so there can be coloring added, flavors, other adjucts… what have you. It just didn’t interest me, I guess. I certainly didn’t think it belonged in a Manhattan!

This cocktail was made with 40 Creek and Dolin dry vermouth. Turns out that this was a delightful drink! I couldn’t call it a Manhattan, but it was very tasty. Light, with a slight vanilla warmth. The lemon twist added a nice bright touch with just a little bitterness. An easy-to-drink Manhattan.

Båetieh bööresth! (Southern Sámi)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 2, 2014 in Canadian whisky

 

2 responses to “Manhattan Dry

Leave a Reply

 
