RSS

Brandy Sour

20 Jan
Brandy Sour

Brandy Sour

Happy New Year folks! As you can see, I took a long break from posting. That’s not to say I took a break from cocktails… far from it. I just took some time to relax and enjoy my favorite libations at my favorite well at my favorite time of year. The end of 2014 was a bit of a flurry. My oldest chick graduated from college (we celebrated at The Republic, of course), various remote family members congregated at the homestead for an early Christmas celebration, my own de familia circuli (Michael, my two daughters, and myself) had a lovely Christmas proper for the first time with just the four of us, and the previously aforementioned oldest chick moved herself and her various and modest belongings back home to await what we expect (hope) will be one or more spectacularly rewarding job offers. So… here I am back in the cocktail tasting game! Glad to have you with us!

December 11, 2014 – The Republic Steakhouse

Brandy Sour 
3/4 oz. lemon juice
1/4 to 3/4 oz. sugar syrup
1 1/2 oz. brandy
Stemmed cherry

Shake well with ice in a shaker. Strain into a sour glass and garnish with the cherry.

Christian Brothers brandy. This was very good, with excellent balance between sweet and tart.There was a subtle fruitiness that had to be coming from the brandy. It was a lovely color, too. Over all, very drinkable.

Gesondheid! (Afrikaans)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 20, 2015 in Brandy

 

Leave a Reply

 
