RSS

Harvey Wallbanger

17 May
Harvey Wallbanger

Harvey Wallbanger

March 12, 2015 – The Republic Steakhouse

Harvey Wallbanger 

1 1/2 oz. vodka
3 1/2 oz. orange juice
1/4 oz. Galliano

Stir vodka with orange juice over ice in a collins glass. Add Galliano and gently stir.

Enchanted Rock vodka. This drink carries a bit of nostalgia for me. Harvey Wallbangers were my parents’ summer go-to cocktail in the 70’s, and they would let me have the virgin version with just the orange juice and drizzle of Galliano. I never had the grown-up version until this night, and I’m so glad I did. Galliano does something wonderful to orange juice that I just can’t put my finger on. The anise, maybe, or the vanilla? Vodka doesn’t add much flavor. I ended up ordering two of these lovely classic cocktails, and I’m likely to order many more this summer.

Ukudigatunal (Aleut)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 17, 2015 in Vodka

 

2 responses to “Harvey Wallbanger

  1. Mom

    May 17, 2015 at 10:25 pm

    You never know what your darlings remember! Before I read the blog I thought I have to tell my dear girl that her dad and I loved these cocktails “back in the day” and then there it was , a memory! We’ve also enjoyed our weekend brunch OJ with a little Galliano..don’t stir it, it floats on top and you get a little taste with each sip!

     

Leave a Reply

 
