RSS

Bloody Mary

30 Jun
Bloody Mary

Bloody Mary

June 4, 2015 – The Republic Steakhouse

Bloody Mary 

1/4 oz. lemon juice
Worcestershire sauce
Celery salt
Ground pepper
Tobasco
1 1/2 oz. vodka
4 oz. tomato juice
Celery stalk

Stir well over ice in a collins glass. Garnish with celery stalk.

Tito’s vodka. I have been putting off ordering this ageless classic because the way The Republic handles Bloody Marys (they have a signature Spicy Mary that is incredible) is to crush cherry tomatoes by hand for each and every drink. This is time consuming, and I try to avoid monopolizing the bartenders’ time with my project when things start to get busy at the bar. (When business is slow, I monopolize all I can.) This particular evening was slow, so I got this one out of the way. My current favorite Bloody Mary version is a deliciously dirty combination of pickle juice-infused vodka, horseradish, Worcestershire, and a LOT of hot sauce, I was expecting a somewhat lukewarm reacquaintance with the classic Bloody Mary. I must say I was very pleased! Light and vibrant, with a color and consistency almost of fruit juice, this lovely brunch stand-by had just the right amount of savory, the right amount of heat, and just the right amount of saltiness. And… thanks to Zach for going the extra mile with the celery stalk!

Slaynt! (health) (Manx)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 30, 2015 in Vodka

 

2 responses to “Bloody Mary

  1. Mom

    June 30, 2015 at 4:53 pm

    Since this the “group’s” favorite breakfast/brunch drink we need to make your version the next meeting! Always looking for “the best I’ve ever had” version!!!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
